ITIL Certification in 2019: 4 Things to Know

ITIL is an abbreviation of Infrastructure Technology Infrastructure library and they are a set of procedures and standards, which assist organizations in managing their IT services to cater to the organization’s and user’s needs. Originating in the late 20th century, the ITIL standards have revolutionized the way IT services operate by setting efficiency standards on designing, delivering and planning aspects of IT to name a few, and keeping up with the dynamic world of information technology, a new version of ITIL, named ITIL v4 is about to be released in 2019. To train the IT professionals of existing and upcoming ITIL standards, QuickStart offers its extensive ITIL training which exhaustively covers each and every element of the equation. In this article, we will be discussing the 4 things you need to know about the new ITIL version and its associated certifications.

New certification format

In comparison to the five certification levels in ITIL v3, the ITIL certification includes 4 levels, which are ITIL Foundation, Managing professional, Strategic Leader and Master level. The Managing professional level consists of creating and delivery support, driving stakeholder value, high velocity IT and directing, planning and improving segments. On the other hand, the Strategic Leader level comprises of digital and IT strategy as well. The ITIL Master level is designed for professionals who have all the required professional experience in addition to all the knowledge pertaining to ITIL.


The ITIL v4 is planned to be released in stages, with the foundation level to be launched in early 2019. The reason for releasing in stages is so that users can familiarize themselves with the changes while there are further updates along the way. Similarly, the Managing Professional and Strategic Leader level of the ITIL certification will be launched in the second half of 2019, while the master level will be released in late 2019. Recently ITIL training is being provided to the trainers of ITIL for the new version, so make sure to get your ITIL training from a resource, which has undergone the recent training as well.

What about v3 certifications

The existing ITIL certifications will stay valid but there is a high likelihood that employers would require IT professionals to upgrade to the new certifications. The good news is that there is a transition plan for ITIL v3 certification holders of varying levels, such as ITIL v3 intermediate certification holders can complete their expert level and then shift to ITIL v4 managing professional level. This will never make you feel stuck as you will always have a chance to learn and explore more.

Content of certifications

The new ITIL certification content would be based on the new content upgrades, which especially have dealt with streamlined documentation, service management principles and concepts along with the recent trends in software development. The emphasis has now been shifted more towards keeping things simple and improving user-friendliness to drive value and the expected outcomes out of the IT operations. Therefore, it is essential to take ITIL training to familiarize yourself with the new developments in ITIL. It will not only add a certificate to your collection but loads of important and must have skills to your skill set, knowledge, and chances to a better and accomplished future. This certification is a gateway to your future accomplishments and growth. So, if you have yet not got certifies and are still guessing whether or not to go for it then let me assure you, this is the right time to get the certification.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Captcha *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.